Job/Classes & their impact on in-game Damage.

Back during Beta Phase 3, Valky had a Theory. He assumed that every job had a unique damage formula, or a modifier for the damage formula. He noticed that during his testing with the Monk, the Bard, Dragoon, Warrior and Paladin all gave him different damage ranges, even though his formula was 100% accurate for his Monk. This kind of makes sense and I can see why Square Enix might do this. If every job has their own damage formula, or a modifier for the Damage Formula, it makes it extremely easy to balance out Job Damage – Too easy in fact.

I’ve been reading up on the Japanese Theorycrafting recently as well. The Japanese took Valkys work to heart and used it as the basis of all of their Theorycrafting. What they’ve done on the other side of the world actually resembles Valks work quite a lot. Up on reading numerous, badly Google translated blogs and web pages, I noticed something… and it got me thinking.

Was Valky correct all this time?

One thing I’d like to point out now is that our Damage Formula was constructed dismissing this belief. It was made as an “all-purpose” damage formula. It just simplifies everything a lot more.

So, I got kind of bored and I said “Fuck it! I’m going to play with my Training Dummy some more”… And I found something which kind of surprised me.

I parsed both a Dragoon and a Ninja spamming a 150 potency skill, with a set which gave me the exact same same stats:

  • WD: 52
  • STR: 365
  • DET: 224

And to my bemusement… There was a difference. A noticeable difference. The Dragoon’s min/max damage values were 2 more than that of the Ninja. Now, I thought this was Bullshit at first and could of been caused by Rounding Errors as I’m using low-magnitude data to compare. But, if the damage formula was consistent for all Jobs/Classes, then the Rounding Errors would of been exactly the same for both…

So I then repeated the test with a Lancer and a Rogue. Again, using a 150 potency ability and the exact same stats as above, my parses are completely different, The Lancer and Rogue were both below that of Jobs, but the Lancer was still above that of the Rogue.

So, I then recorded data for the Paladin, Warrior, Marauder and Gladiator, then put all of my information into one neat table, as you can see below.

Yeah. There was definitely a difference in damage values. What amused me the most was the Gladiator, which was completely below any of the other Jobs/Classes. One thing I noticed was that jobs/classes might well be “tiered” or “grouped”, which uses the same formula or modifier. You’ll see that a few Jobs/Classes, such as the Lancer and the Warrior had the same min/max values. This could be rounding errors, who knows? But that’s why I’m gathering more data. For now, here’s the “Tiers”:

  • Tier 1) Dragoon
  • Tier 2) Ninja
  • Tier 3) Warrior & Lancer & Marauder
  • Tier 4) Rogue

I’m not going to go too in depth into the mathematics for now. I’ll do that later on. But for now, I’m posting all of my observations and findings so people can see them.

So yes, this does in fact confirm that different Jobs/Classes have different damage formulas, or they impact the damage formula differently. Maybe it’s a modifier, maybe it’s not. We’ll see. But for now, I need more data.

Oh! Also here’s a download link for the spreadsheet which recorded all of my data if you want to take a look.

http://www.filedropper.com/jobdmg-52wd365ap224det

Job/Classes & their impact on in-game Damage.

Leave a Reply

